Whitney Houston Biography And Albums

This article is about Whitney Houston Biography. It consists of her live activities and achievements.

Whitney Elizabeth Houston was an actress and a singer. She released seven studio albums and two soundtrack albums, all of which have been confirmed precious stone, multi-platinum, platinum, or gold by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA). Whitney Houston was referred to as the most granted female artist ever by Guinness World Records and is outstanding amongst other selling recording specialists, time , with assessed deals of more than 200m records around the world.

As a child, Whitney Houston began as choir in church and later became a background vocalist in high school. At 19, she signed under the Arista Records Label with Clive Davis as the chairman. Under the Arista Records Label, she released both Whitney Houston and Whitney. These were her first two studio albums and they both made it to number one on the Billboard 200.

In 1998, Houston renewed her contract with Arista following the success of the album ‘My Love Is Your Love’ for $100 million. But then, in 2002, her personal struggles became more and more pronounced, overshadowing her career. There was a widespread media coverage of her noisy marriage and her use of drugs. These controversies made her to embark on a six-year break from recording. After the break was over, Whitney Houston came back with ‘I Look To You’ in 2009 which was her final album.

Whitney Houston was found dead on February 11, 2012 at the Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, California. Turns out she accidentally got drowned in her bathtub, with cocaine use and heart disease as contributing factors.

Early Life And Career

Whitney Elizabeth Houston was born on August 9, 1963, in Newark, New Jersey. She was the daughter of John Russell Houston, Jr. and Emily Cissy Houston, a gospel singer. Her parents were both African-Americans. They later got divorced after the family moved to East Orange, New Jersey. Michael, her elder brother was a singer. While, Gary Garland, her half brother, was a basket ball player.

Whitney Houston learned to play the piano at the New Hope Baptist Church in Newark and started performing in the junior choir at age 11 as a soloist. Her mother, Cissy, continued teaching her how to sing while she was still in school. Cissy was among the ‘The Sweet Inspirations’ group that backed up Elvis Presley. As a teenager, Whitney Houston went around the nightclubs where her mother was performing.

At age 17, she began working as a fashion model at Carnegie Hall after being spotted by a photographer while she was singing with Cissy. Houston became the very first coloured woman to appear on the cover of the magazine called Seventeen. At age 20 (1983), an A&R representative from Arista Records went to New York nightclub where Cissy and Whitney Houston were performing. He saw how wonderfully well Whitney was singing, so he had to persuade  Clive Davis to see it also. Whitney Houston really impressed Davis which made him offer her a worldwide recording contract without hesitation. The first song Whitney Houston recorded under the Arista Records label was “Hold Me” which was sang as a duet with Teddy Pendergrass. Whitney Houston had her first taste of success in 1984 after the single was released.


Whitney Houston won the Grammy Award for Record of the Year for the song “I Will Always Love You”. The song was among the six songs she recorded for the soundtrack of the film “The Bodyguard”. It also became the best selling physical single by a woman in music history.

She has seven consecutive number-one singles on the US Billboard Hot 100 chart, making her the only artist to have attained such feet.


Studio Albums

  1. Whitney Houston  (February 14, 1985)
  2. Whitney (June 2, 1987)
  3. I'm Your Baby Tonight (November 4, 1990)
  4. My Love Is Your Love (November 17, 1998)
  5. Just Whitney (December 10, 2002)
  6. One Wish: The Holiday Album (November 18, 2003)
  7. I Look to You (August 31, 2009)

Compilation Albums

  1. Whitney: The Greatest Hits (May 16, 2000)
  2. Love, Whitney (November 20, 2001)
  3. Artist Collection: Whitney
  4. Houston (October 4, 2004)
  5. The Ultimate Collection (October 29, 2007)
  6. The Essential Whitney Houston (January 10, 2011)
  7. I Will Always Love You: The
  8. Best of Whitney Houston (November 12, 2012)

Extended Plays

  1. Whitney Dancin' Special (November 1, 1986)
  2. Exhale (November 6, 1995)
  3. You Are Loved (January 17, 1999)
  4. I Didn't Know My Own Strength:
  5. The Remixes (November 6, 2009)
  6. I Look to You: The Remixes (November 6, 2009)
  7. Million Dollar Bill: The Remixes (November 6, 2009)

Box Set

  1. Whitney: The Unreleased Mixes (April 25, 2000 / June 6, 2006)
  2. Love Whitney (December 4, 2001)
  3. The Collection: Whitney Houston (September 29, 2009)
  4. The Collection (April 19, 2010)
  5. Triple Feature (November 9, 2010)
  6. Two Original Albums: My Love Is Your Love / I Look to You (September 16, 2011)

Post a Comment