Jay-Z Short Biography and Albums

Read the short biography of rapper Jay-Z and his albums from the start of his career till now.

Shawn Corey Carter, popularly known as Jay-Z, is a business man, record producer, song writer, and an American rapper. He was born on the 4th of December, 1969 in  Brooklyn borough, New York City. He was also raised in New York City.

Jay-Z's father, Adnis Reeves, was a deadbeat dad. Gloria Carter, Jay-Z's mother, had to take care of him and his three siblings alone. Although, Jay-Z and his father reconciled later on. Jay-Z was a student at Eli Whitney High School in the town he stayed until the school was closed. After the school was shutdown, he began to attend George Westinghouse Career and Technical Education High School. Around this time, Jay-z was shot three times and he also sold cocaine. This was revealed through his song and on interviews.

Jay-Z's interest in music was sparked when his mother bought him a boombox for his birthday. This was when he started to write lyrics and he freestyled. He obtained the name Jay-Z from his neighborhood nickname at that time, Jazzy, and also from Jay-O, his mentor.

As at the early stage of his musical career, Jay-Z wasn't signed under any major records label. In 1995,  He created Roc-A-Fella Records with Kareem Biggs Burke  and Damon Dame Dash. Reasonable Doubt was Jay-Z first album which he released far back at 1996. The beats he used in the album were gotten from Super DJ Clark Kent and DJ Premier. Over Jay-Z's musical career, he has had lyrical clashes with rappers Nas and Prodigy. This resulted them to firing diss tracks at each other.

Currently, Jay-Z is married to popular american singer, dancer and actress, Beyoncé Giselle Knowles-Carter. They have 3 children together. His Net Worth as at 2019 was estimated US$1 billion.

So far, Shawn Corey Carter has released thirteen studio albums. The last album he made, '4:44' was released in 2017. 'S. Carter Collection' was Jay-Z's only mixtape which he released on April 2003. In 1999, Jay-Z won the Grammy Award under the category of Best Rap Album of 1998 for the Vol. 2 of My Lifetime which he released on September of the year.

Studio Albums

  1. Reasonable Doubt (June 1996) - Label: Roc-A-Fella
  2. In My Lifetime, Vol. 1 (November 1997) - Label: Def Jam & Roc-A-Fella
  3. Vol. 2... Hard Knock Life (September 1998) - Label: Def Jam & Roc-A-Fella
  4. Vol. 3... Life and Times of S. Carter (December 1999) - Label: Def Jam, IDJMG & Roc-A-Fella
  5. The Dynasty: Roc La Familia (October 2000) - Label: Def Jam, IDJMG & Roc-A-Fella
  6. The Blueprint (September 2001) - Label: Def Jam, IDJMG & Roc-A-Fella
  7. The Blueprint 2: The Gift & The Curse (November 2002) - Label: Def Jam, IDJMG & Roc-A-Fella
  8. The Black Album (November 2003) - Label: Def Jam, IDJMG & Roc-A-Fella
  9. Kingdom Come (November 2006) - Label: Def Jam, IDJMG & Roc-A-Fella
  10. American Gangster (November 2007) - Label: Def Jam, IDJMG & Roc-A-Fella
  11. The Blueprint 3 (September 2009) - Label: Atlantic & Roc Nation
  12. Magna Carta... Holy Grail (July 2013) - Label: IDJMG, Roc-A-Fella & Roc Nation
  13. 4:44 (June 2017) - Label: Roc Nation & UMG

Collaboration Albums

  1. The Best of Both Worlds with R. Kelly (March 2002) - Label: Def Jam, Jive & Roc-A-Fella
  2. Unfinished Business with R. Kelly (October 2004) - Label: Def Jam, Jive & Roc-A-Fella
  3. Collision Course with Linkin Park (November 2004) - Label: Def Jam, Machine Shop, Roc-A-Fella & Warner Bros.
  4. Watch the Throne with Kanye West (August 2011) - Label: Def Jam, Roc-A-Fella & Roc Nation
  5. Everything Is Love with Beyoncé as The Carters (June 2018) - Label: Columbia, Parkwood, Roc Nation & UMG


  1. S. Carter Collection (April 2003) - Label: Def Jam & Roc-A-Fella

Compilation Album

  1. Chapter One: Greatest Hits (March 2002) - Label: BMG &
  2. Northwestside
  3. Blueprint 2.1 (April 2003) - Label: Def Jam & Roc-A-Fella
  4. Bring It On: The Best of Jay-Z (November 2003) - Label: BMG
  5. Greatest Hits (September 2006) - Label: Sony BMG
  6. Jay-Z: The Hits Collection, Volume One (November 2010) - Label: Def Jam, Roc-A-Fella & Roc Nation

Post a Comment